classroom activities · technology integration

Studies, Silly Stories, Songs, Spanish, and Strep

It was an eventful week in Room 202.

Studies: For graduate school, I am researching effective technology integration in the mathematics classroom… I am learning so much! Some of my favorite takeaways were:

  • “A teacher’s pedagogy should drive the technology, rather than technology being used for technology sake” (Northcote, 2015, p. 22).
  • “As a result of the growing disconnect between their world and the world they are supposed to receive a formal education, many students are bored with the classroom” (Sheninger, 2014, p. 16).
  • “Technology can enable children with a range of functional abilities to participate in activities and experiences in inclusive settings” (Cicconi, 2013, p. 57).

I think the quotation that resonated most with me is the one from Sheninger (2014) about bored students. In the middle of lessons, I sometimes look out at my students’ faces and wonder what they are thinking about… lunch? homework? Justin Bieber? Every day, I try to have something interactive for the students to do. If it’s not a collaborative game, it’s having them teach or solve problems at the whiteboard. Needless to say, I am looking forward to developing (and using) my lesson plans that involve technology for this research project. The first will include an online game-based learning opportunity for students and will serve as a type of formative assessment. The second will include a project-based learning opportunity for students and will serve as a summative assessment (replacing the typical unit test).

Silly Stories: My algebra class is working hard on graphing linear inequalities. We did a review activity this week, and the non-mathematical part ended up being so great. Let me explain… I created the sort activity by cutting apart a worksheet. Students then had to match the numbered graphs with the lettered inequalities. I began by having them write the numbers 1-12 on a piece of paper. As they figured out which lettered inequality matched graph one, they would put that letter next to the one on their papers. The order ended up being G, A, F, K, C, E, L, D, J, B, H, I. Instead of just checking the ordered letters, I had the students write wacky sentences with the letters. They LOVED it!!! I heard about Kansas City Eels, Justin Bieber, George Always Firing Kangaroos. I have to admit that I was laughing so hard by the end of class. 🙂

Songs: My sixth grade students created songs to remember mean, median, mode, and range. All of the groups created music videos, and we watched them yesterday. They put SO much time into developing the lyrics. Some students even coordinated their lyrics to tunes on the radio. I’ll try to upload a sample soon.

Spanish: I took four years of Spanish in high school and one semester in college. This does not, in any way, mean that I am a stellar Spanish speaker; however, my students could use some serious work in this area. Anytime possible, I try to incorporate a little Spanish into math class. So here is my Spanish story from today… After asking my students, “Tienes preguntas?”, (meaning do you have questions), my students looked at me baffled, with no clue what I had said. After a few moments of silence, one of my students had a revelation exclaiming, “Oh I know, Mrs. Schultz, you’re pregnant”. Perhaps I will steer clear of Spanish for a few days…

Strep: I always get a case of strep throat in January. Okay, maybe not always, but the past three years it has not avoided me. I stayed home last Thursday, went to the doctor, and watched Pretty Little Liars rested. I’m on the uphill now and looking forward to an exciting and eventful Catholic Schools Week next week!

Thanks for reading!

 

 

One thought on “Studies, Silly Stories, Songs, Spanish, and Strep

  1. Thanks for sharing your classroom practices. How do you feel the activities you shared advanced your students conceptual knowledge of math?

    Hope you are on the mend. Step is awful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

