bulletin board ideas · classroom organization

New Year. New Choices.

IMG_0026

This is one of two bulletin boards currently displayed in my classroom… It means just as much to me as I hope it does to my students. Even though I am twenty-something, settled, and satisfied, there are still some new choices to make this year in 2016. You’re reading the product of one of my first choices, entering the blog world. Although I’ll admit, it took a graduate school class to light my fire, this is something that I have wanted to do for a while now. For as often as I utilize blogs and borrow lesson ideas and interactive student notebook (ISN) entries, I thought maybe someone somewhere could benefit from something I’m doing or have done in my classroom. Anyway… Let me show you around Room 202!

10604107_10203437036664840_4477656675953673838_oLots of learning happens in here. Lots of laughter happens in here. You know that Mark Twain quote, “Find a job you enjoy doing, and you will never have to work a day in your life”, this is so true for me. My students make every day unpredictable. They make me laugh. They make me proud. They surprise me. They inspire me to be better… Oh, and they give me some fun stories to tell my husband at night, too!

I teach all of the middle school mathematics classes; this includes Math 6, Math 7, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra. I have half classes (why my classroom is small), so the most students I have in one class is fifteen. I love having students for three consecutive years with these small class sizes; it gives me a chance to get to know them and their mathematical abilities.

Here are some unique components of my classroom.

I’m all about organization strategies… My husband is an architect, so quite a few of these projects were inspired (and completed) by him.

IMG_0043-2.JPGThis supply station is a life-saver time-saver. We practice expectations at the beginning of the year for a week or two, until students have procedures down. We use these supplies almost every day for ISN foldables, so it’s important that they are readily available. It’s made out of two IKEA bookshelves. There are rails to display the cups at different levels.

IMG_0034

 

 

The huge calendar informs students of school-wide events, assessments, and, of course, student birthdays!

 

 

I have two bulletin boards that I try to change up pretty often. Sometimes they are interactive, other times, not so much. You’ve seen one of them (at the top of this post); here is the other one. Each of my students completed at least one notecard… My favorite inclusions are donuts, Netflix, and, of course, MATH!

IMG_0032

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My graduate school class is Leadership in the Administration of Educational Technology, so I’m going to do a brief overview of the technology resources I frequently use… This list will only grow!

One online resource my students are required to use ALEKS. This is an online adaptive assessment that instructs students on the topics they are most ready to learn. Students work through different topics in their pie, completing a minimum of one hour each week. Students in my classes work through Middle School Math Course One, Middle School Math Course Two, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra.

Another online resource I use is Kahoot. This is an online game program, and it’s free. You can either log in and create your own game or you can search through games others have created. My students LOVE that the top 5 scores and names appear on the SmartBoard while we play. So much fun!

An additional online resource I use all the time is Teachers Pay Teachers. I love the idea of the site and find great resources all the time. I also just recently set up my own store… (Middle Level Math Love) It’s fun to know that other teachers are getting use out of my games, activities, foldables, and other products. 🙂

5 thoughts on “New Year. New Choices.

  1. Kristel-
    Thank you so much for inviting us into your room. It is so inviting and student centered. I am glad this class is helping you met one of your goals (blogging). I love to blog as well, but have fallen into a slump so I am happy to have this class put me back into the swing of things. Thanks so much for sharing your resources . Great first post.

    Like

  2. Kristel-
    I really enjoyed getting a little tour of your classroom and seeing pictures of things you utilize with your students. Are all of the classes in your school structured to have small class sizes? That must be so nice to have a smaller class. I bet you are able to foster some interesting discussions and projects in the class. I have never heard of Kahoot, so I am going to check it out. Thanks for the tip!

    Like

  3. Kristel-
    I loved seeing parts of your classroom. I loved the Wall of Happiness! What a great idea. I have played around with Kahoot a little bit. I will admit that I used it in a workshop and then haven’t used it much in the classroom. However, this grad class has made me want to try different things in my classroom. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. I loved seeing parts of your classroom. I loved the Wall of Happiness! What a great idea. I have played around with Kahoot a little bit. I will admit that I used it in a workshop and then haven’t used it much in the classroom. However, this grad class has made me want to try different things in my classroom. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Kristel-
    Just looking at your picture alone inspires me to do cool things with my classroom. In my undergraduate degree, I was big into setting my room up for success. Although I teach high school, this is still an important concept. This first thing I noticed was how your desks are set up in pods. That’s provides for wonderful opportunities for students to learn from each other. My classroom is set up in pods, however since I teach in a computer lab, I am limited to how much I can move stuff around.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

